The EU-Georgia Association Council has held its second meeting in Brussels

 The EU-Georgia Association Council held its second meeting in Brussels, on 16 November. The EU-Georgia Association Council is a highest formal body overseeing implementation of the Association Agreement.  
Georgian Prime Minister Irakli Garibashvili and High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Vice-President of the Commission Federica Mogherini. The Georgian delegation included Vice Prime Minister, Foreign Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili, Minister of Economy and Sustainable Development Dimitri Kumsiashvili, Minister of Justice Tea Tsulukiani, State Minister of Georgia on European and Euro-Atlantic Integration David Bakradze, State Minister for Reconciliation and Civic Equality Paata Zakareishvili. Commissioner for European Neighbourhood and Enlargement Negotiations Johannes Hahn was also present at the meeting.
The plenary session of the meeting focused on the issues and priorities relating to Georgia-EU cooperation, including the progress in the implementation of the Association Agreement including the Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area; ongoing democratic reforms; progress that has been achieved within the frames of the Georgia-EU visa dialogue; issues relating to trade and economic co-operation; Eastern Partnership and European Neighbourhood Policy; situation in Georgia’s occupied territories and the need to intensify the European Union’s role in promoting stability in the country.
The European Union positively appraised the steps the Georgian Government has taken towards the implementation of the Association Agreement emphasizing the importance of accelerating reforms for achieving Georgia’s political association and economic integration with the European Union.
The sides welcomed the progress in Georgia’s implementation of the Visa Liberalisation Action Plan. The Georgian delegation expressed the hope that the European Commission’s assessment report due to be released by the end of the year will be final and Georgia will be granted visa free travel in the near future providing Georgia fulfills all targets and benchmarks listed in the Action Plan.
The participants of the meeting paid particular attention to the security situation in Georgia, including the latest developments in the occupied territories and the possibility of enhancing the European Union’s engagement for promoting stability in the country. In this regard, the members of the delegations emphasized the importance of the EUMM, the Geneva International Discussions and the EU Special Representative for the South Caucasus and the crisis in Georgia. The EU delegation reaffirmed its support for Georgia’s territorial integrity within its international recognized borders.
Following the meeting of the Association Council, the EU High Representative and the Georgia Prime Minister met media representatives.  A joint EU-Georgia press release was also issued.
As part of his visit to Brussels, Georgian Prime Minister Irakli Garibashvili held a bilateral meeting with First Vice-President of the Europen Commission Frans Timmermans. The sides highlighted the progress made in the implementation of the VLAP.
Vice Prime Minister, Foreign Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili held a working meeting with the Foreign Ministers of the EU Member States and Chairman of the European Parliament Committee on Foreign Affairs Elmar Brok.
On 16 November Giorgi Kvirikashvili delivered a speech at the meeting of the European Parliament Committee on Foreign Affairs, where he highlighted priorities on Georgia’s European integration agenda, further plans and objectives.
On 17 November Irakli Garibashvili held a meeting with President of the European Council Donald Tusk. Vice Prime Minister, Foreign Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili held meetings with European Commissioner for Migration, Home Affairs and Citizenship Dimitris Avramopoulos, as well as representatives of business communities.

Joint press release following the second Association Council meeting between the European Union and Georgia