Relations Between Georgia and the Commonwealth of Australia

Chronology of Diplomatic Relations

Diplomatic relations between Georgia and the Commonwealth of Australia were established on July 16, 1992.

Embassy of Georgia to the Commonwealth of Australia also accredited to New Zealand, Independent State of Samoa, Republic of Fiji, Solomon Islands and Republic of Vanuatu

Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Georgia:

  • Mr. Giorgi Dolidze - 2017-to date
  • Mr. Vladimer Konstantinidi - February 2012 - 2017 (with the residence in Canberra).

Ambassadors Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Commonwealth of Australia to Georgia:

  • James Martin Larsen (from February 14, 2014 to date, with the residence in Ankara).
  • Ian Biggs (since March 2, 2011 to January 2014, with the residence in Ankara);
  • Peter Doyle (December 22, 2008 - March 2, 2011, with the residence in Ankara);
  • Robert James Tyson (2005, with the residence in Moscow);
  • Leslie Adrian Rowe (2002, with the residence in Moscow);
  • Ruth Lorraine Pearce (1998, with the residence in Moscow);

Fields of Cooperation

Australia is an important partner State of Georgia throughout the Pacific Rim and globally. In the recent period bilateral relations are actively developed between Georgia and Australia in the politics, economics, agriculture, tourism, education and other fields and the opening of the Embassy of Georgia in Canberra has significantly contributed to this fact. Regular political consultation mechanism between foreign agencies of the two countries represent the significant format for the discussing the issues of cooperation in the various fields.

It should be noted that number of Australian visitors to Georgia are increased annually.

Useful Links:

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade of Australia
Prime Minister of Australia: